The winners of the 2018 Gas Industry Awards have been announced. The event is organised by the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) and Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM).

A total of 13 awards were presented on the day, including a special award for Apprentice of the Year in recognition of the government’s Year of the Engineer campaign designed to inspire the next generation to pursue a career in engineering.

The winners are:

Manager of the Year

Wez Little, Synthotech

Engineer of the Year

John White, Synthotech

Young Person’s Achievement Award

Andy Lewis, Cadent


Balfour Beatty for GDSP loss time injury record

Energy Efficiency Award

Wales & West Utilities

Innovation Project

Technology for compliance delivered by Taunton Deane Borough Council in partnership with Gas Tag

Customer Service

Hannah Moseley, British Gas

Innovation Product

M1 live mains replacement inspection crawler system developed by ULC Robotics and tRIIO in partnership with Cadent


Joanne Giles, Cadent

Company of the Year

Wales & West Utilities

Apprentice of the Year

John Brady, SGN

Special Recognition Award

Adrian McConnell, Gas Safety Trust

Outstanding Achievement Award

Chris Clarke, Wales & West Utilities

The event was hosted by former royal correspondent, journalist and television presenter, Jennie Bond, with a keynote speech from Rachel Reeves, Chair of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Select Committee.

Mike Foster, Chief Executive of the EUA, said: “The calibre of nominations this year was extremely high – the gas industry boasts some of the UK’s most talented people and innovative companies, so winning is a huge honour.”