Launched 16 years ago, the Pump Industry Awards has always made its mission to recognise and reward those companies and individuals that ‘go the extra mile’ and to act as a motivator to encourage more companies to fulfil their potential.

The 2016 awards focused on manufacture and supply, including innovation and achievement, energy saving, engineering excellence, customer care and employee motivation. On the night, six companies and two individuals won awards, as follows:

Technical Innovation – Products

Winner: Flowserve SIHI with the SIHIboost

Technical Innovation – Projects

Winner: Neptuno Pumps

Environmental Contribution of the Year

Winner: Bedford Pumps save stakeholders £3 million on fish-friendly scheme

Distributor of the Year

Winner: Tomlinson Hall & Co.

Manufacturer of the Year

Winner: KSB

Supplier of the Year

Winner: John Crane

Engineer of the Year

Winner: Ryan Pearson, Grundfos Pumps

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Ken Hall, managing director of Calpeda Pumps

Steve Schofield, director of the BPMA said: "Thank you to everyone who put forward an entry into this year’s awards programme. Our judging process is extremely rigorous, so many congratulations to all those who reached the final stage, and of course to the individual category winners. We feel this year’s complement of finalists truly encompasses the scope of success and innovation in the pump industry today.”

This year’s Pump Industry Awards Gala Dinner was held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Heythrop Park on 10 March and hosted by BBC presenter Mary Rhodes. To round off the proceedings, a charity raffle was held in support of the BPMA’s adopted charity, WaterAid. With prizes donated by companies throughout the industry, the event managed to raise £1,800, which after being doubled by the UK government will provide fresh drinking water for people in need around the world.